Welcome to NAME


Past Presidents of NAME

roseduhon_sellsDr. Rose Duhon-Sells
Southern University of New Orleans
NAME Founder
President, 1990-1994

carlgrantDr. Carl A. Grant
University of Wisconsin, Madison
President, 1994-1999

donnagollnickDr. Donna M. Gollnick
National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE)
President, 1999-2001

billhoweDr. William A. Howe
Connecticut State Department of Education
President, 2001-2003

theresamontanoTheresa Montaño
Cal State University Northridge
President, 2003-2005

University of Michigan, Programs for Educational OpportunityTasha Lebow
University of Michigan–Programs for Educational Opportunity
President, 2005-2007

Cherry Ross Gooden
Texas Southern University
President, 2009-2010

Christine Sleeter, , Professor Emerita, Cal State University Monterey Bay, President Elect of NAME

Christine Sleeter
Professor Emerita
Cal State University–Monterey Bay
President, 2010-2012


kevinKevin Kumashiro
Dean, School of Education
University of San Francisco


We must also acknowledge the contributions of NAME’s First Executive Director


Jill Moss Greenberg